Scientific committee


angelica Angelica Espinosa Miranda, M.D., Ph.D (Brazil)
Dr Angelica Miranda is a professor in the Department of Social Medicine at the Universidade Federal do Espirito Santo, Brazil. Board certified obstetrics and gynecology specialist with a master degree in infectious diseases. Ex-president of the Brazilian Society of Sexually Transmitted Diseases (DST). She is the scientific director of the Brazilian Society for STD. Dr. Miranda’s research focuses upon epidemiology of infectious diseases and reproductive health.
angelica Caroline Cameron, Ph.D (Canadá)
Dr. Caroline Cameron is a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology at the University of Victoria in Victoria, BC, Canada, President-elect of the International Society for Sexually Transmitted Diseases Research (ISSTDR) and Co-Chair of the future 2019 23rd ISSTDR/20th IUSTI World Congress in Vancouver, BC. Caroline’s research program focuses upon vaccine development through the identification and characterization of molecules that are central to the pathogenesis of Treponema pallidum.

Track Chairs

angelica 1. Systems biology and novel technologies for molecular analysis & diagnosis
Chair: Magnus Unemo, Ph.D (Sweden)
Magnus Unemo has since 2006 a position as Associate Professor in Medical Microbiology and Molecular Biology at Örebro University, Sweden. He directs a WHO Collaborating Centre for Gonorrhoea and Other STIs and the Swedish Reference Laboratory for Pathogenic Neisseria, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Örebro University Hospital. His main research focuses on Neisseria gonorrhoeae and other bacterial STIs, and he has published >250 peer-reviewed PubMed-indexed papers and numerous chapters in international scientific books. The research involves, for example, basic science, diagnostics, molecular epidemiology, antimicrobial resistance, and mechanisms for antimicrobial resistance. Magnus Unemo is also Editor of the Swedish STI Reference Methodology; Editor-in-Chief of the 2013 WHO Manual for Laboratory Diagnosis of STIs and HIV; in the Editorial Board for the European STI Guidelines; and, together with the United Kingdom STI Reference Laboratory, Public Health England, supporting the European Centre For Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) with running the European Gonococcal Antimicrobial Surveillance Programme (Euro-GASP) and other European STI Laboratory Reference functions.
Track Members: Anne Jerse (USA), Jacques Ravel (currently France), Jo-Ann Passmore (South Africa), Jorgen Skov Jensen (Denmark), Luisa Villa (Brazil), Nicholas Thomson (UK), Tony Cunningham (Australia)
angelica 2. Clinical science (clinical trials, natural history studies, case reports/challenges)
Chair: Bradley Stoner, M.D., Ph.D (USA)
Dr. Bradley Stoner is an associate Professor at Washington University in Saint Louis. His research addresses issues at the interface of anthropology, public health, and medicine. He is particularly concerned with the analysis of political and economic underpinnings of health and illness in cross-cultural perspective. He conducts research on sociocultural aspects of sexually transmitted disease control in developed countries.
Track Members:Andrew Mujugira (Uganda), Keith Radcliffe (UK), Laura Bachmann (US), Somesh Gupta (India), Suzanne Garland (Australia), Cornelis (Kees) Rietmeijer  (USA), Freddy Tinajeros (Honduras), Mariangela Freitas da Silveira (Brazil)
angelica 3. Epidemiology, monitoring & evaluation
Chair: Marc Steben, M.D. (Canada)
A family practitioner, Dr Steben is medical advisor at the STI unit of Quebec’s National Public Health Institute. He chairs Québec province committee on STI and is a member of the STI laboratory analysis committee. He is a professor, the Social and Preventive Medicine department of the School of public health at Université de Montréal. He is the medical director of Clinique A, a clinic devoted to multidisciplinary approach to sexual health. He is involved in research about ano genital disease and his publications and communications span from external genital warts, anal cancer, high-grade disease of the vulva, cervical cancer as well as all other STI and vulvo vaginal disease. He is a member of the Canadian STI guidelines expert group and lead author on the HPV, genital herpes and genital ulceration chapter. He has chaired the 26th International papillomavirus society meeting as well as the first Public health workshop and Clinical workshop in July 2010. He is Chair of the Canadian network on HPV prevention International Centre for Infectious Diseases. He was on the board of the International papillomavirus society and now on the board of the International society for the study of vulvo-vaginal disease and a founding member of IUSTI Canada branch of IUSTI North America.
Track Members:Bea Vuylsteke (Belgium); Bill Miller (USA); Helen Ward (UK); Lisa Manhart (USA); Michel Alary (Canada); Patricia Garcia (Peru); Philippe Mayaud (UK); Rebecca Guy (Australia)
angelica 4. Behavioral & social science research
Chair: Sevgi O. Aral, Ph.D., M.A., M.S. (USA)
Dr. Sevgi Aral has been the Associate Director for Science in the Division of STD Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) since 1993. She has received the ASTDA Achievement Award and the Thomas Parran Award. Dr. Aral’s research interests have included social and behavioral aspects of sexually transmitted disease, epidemiology and prevention; including gender, age and race effects; mixing patterns; sexual and social networks; contextual factors; social determinants and most recently, program science.
Track Members:Alain Giami (France), Catherine Mercer (USA), Jackie Jennings (USA), Lisa Mcdaid (Scotland), Megan Lim (Australia), Sarah Hawkes (UK)
angelica 5. Biomedical STI/HIV prevention (vaccines, microbicides, pre-exposure prophylaxis)
Chair: Christopher Fairley, M.D. (Australia)
Christopher Fairley is Director of the Melbourne Sexual Health Centre and Professor of Public Health at Monash University. He holds three specialist medical fellowships from the College of Physicians (infectious diseases), Faculty of Public Health and Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine. He is an editor of the Journal ‘Sexual Health’. His principle research interests are the public health control of sexually transmitted diseases and the effectiveness of clinical services. He sits on the boards of IUSTI and ISSTDR
Track Members: Andrew Grulich (Asia Pacific/USA); Anna Wald (USA); Jared Baeten (USA); Marco Vitoria (Brazil/Switzerland); Sharon Hillier (USA); Sheila Lukehart (USA); Sheena McCormack (UK)
angelica 6. Policy, advocacy, & community engagement in STI/HIV research
Chair: Gail Bolan, M.D. (USA)
Dr. Gail Bolan was appointed Director of CDC’s Division of Sexually Transmitted Disease Prevention (DSTDP) at the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention in December 2010. Dr. Bolan received the CDC Jack Spencer Award, which honors an individual for a career of exceptional contributions to excellence in STD prevention characterized by outstanding commitment to science-based programs, continuous innovation, and profound commitment to helping people.
Track Members:Adele Schwartz Benzaken (Brasil); Basil Donovan (Australia), Carlos Caceres (Peru), James Kiarie (Kenya), Jami Leichliter (USA), Jonathan Ross (UK); Lisa Smylie (Canada)